Skip to content

Trust in God for He Knows Best!

August 30, 2013

I came across a little story lately that I found inspiring. I’m not sure on the author but it came along at just the right moment, so I know God had a hand in it. I’ll reproduce it here for you to see.

Me: God, can I ask You a question?
God: Sure.
Me: Promise You won’t get mad…
God: I promise.
Me: Why did You let so much stuff happen to me today? … God: What do you mean?
Me: Well, I woke up late…
God: Yes.
Me: My car took forever to start…
God: Okay.
Me: At lunch they made my sandwich wrong and I had to wait…
God: Mhmmm…
Me: On the way home, my phone went dead just as I picked up a call…
God: All right.
Me: And on top of it all, when I got home, I just wanted to soak my feet in my new foot massager and relax! But it wouldn’t work! Nothing went right today! Why did You do that?
God: Let me see, the death angel was at your bed this morning and I had to send one of My Angels to battle him for your life. I let you sleep through that.
Me (humbled): Oh…
God: I didn’t let your car start because there was a drunk driver on your route that would have hit you if you were on the road.
Me: (ashamed)
God: The first person who made your sandwich today was sick and I didn’t want you to catch what they have. I knew you couldn’t afford to miss work.
Me (embarrassed): Okay…
God: Your phone went dead because the person that was calling was going to give false witness about what you said on that call. I didn’t even let you talk to them so you would be covered.
Me (softly): I see, God…
God: Oh and that foot massager? It had a shortage that was going to throw out all of the power in your house tonight. I didn’t think you wanted to be in the dark.
Me: I’m sorry, God…
God: Don’t be sorry, just learn to Trust Me… in all things, the good & the bad.
Me: I will trust You.
God: And don’t doubt that My plan for your day is always better than your plan.
Me: I won’t God. And let me just tell you God, thank you for everything today.
God: You’re welcome child. It was just another day being your God and I love looking after My children.
 
I’ve seen many a post online, whether from a news source or even one of my hobby websites that went rediculously off-topic about how God could be so great, how could He be so loving if He lets all this bad stuff happen to us? This was the answer to that question that I found even myself pondering from time to time. Even the tale of Job couldn’t quite satisfy me, though it would at least “bandage” it for me.
Interestingly enough, shortly after reading this and sharing it with my facebook friends, I had an “incident” at work where this story came in handy. I work security at a Kellogg cereal plant at their Truck Gate entrance. A driver came in with a load, and as I watched him walk up the stairs to the gate entrance, I could tell he seemed a bit haggled. He greeted me amicably enough, we went through the usual routine of paperwork, inspections, and phone calls. On his way out to drop off the load, he mentioned to me that he was running late because he had had a blowout on the highway earlier and that it had set him back a rather large length of time. It was then that I understood the haggled, stressed look in his eye, but he was gone now, my job was done, and I returned to my regular duties. My job allows me some freedoms, and that night I was studying Genesis, primarily the creation account. I had books scattered all over the desk – my bible, a bible commentary, an Old Testament Survey, an English bible in a different translation, a devotional, a notebook, and various pens and highlighters. Some time passed, and my friendly driver returned to check out. As he walked through the door, the first thing he said to me was – “Do you think God is upset with me?” I was a bit taken aback at first, though I know I shouldn’t have been. It just isn’t the kind of question I usually get at work.
I was a bit nervous. I’m still learning, and have never felt up to the task of answering these questions. Most of them I still have myself! Nevertheless, I couldn’t just say nothing, so… “Why do you ask that?”
He sighed, shook his head and said. “Well, I had that blowout like I mentioned earlier, my dispatch has been giving me a hard time on my outbound load information, I lost money while I was stuck on the highway for two hours… it’s just been a really bad day, and I wonder if God’s trying to tell me something.”
It struck me how many times I’d thought this myself. That maybe I’d done something wrong, or something to anger God, and so He was punishing me for my wrongdoing by giving me a terrible day where nothing goes right. But at that moment, I remember that story. I didn’t even remember the whole thing, I just remembered the part about the drunk driver on the road. It was all I needed!
“I remember being told a story, and I don’t remember all of it, but I remember part of it…”
And after telling him the tale, his face visibly brightened, he thanked me, and asked to use the restroom. After coming out, and just before leaving, he turned to me and said – “You know what else makes what you said true? You are sitting there with the good book, and God put you here just when I needed you to be here to help keep me on the right track. He is truly great.”
It was then that he left, a more vibrant hop in his step, feeling infinitely better than when he came. Part of my job is to assist people when they arrive at my gate. Give them directions on the lot, prepare their paperwork, etc… it was a breath of fresh air to give true directions for once.
 
We must always trust that God’s plan is infinitely better than our own. We need to stop banging our head against the wall trying to change His plan! And why would we want to? His is so much better than ours anyway! As it is written… “Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.” – Proverbs 19:21.
Published by Jay McAnally
Copyright © 2013
 
6 Comments
  1. What an inspiring story. The most important was that you had that chance to witness and you grasped it. There so many who don’t and sometimes takes courage to do so. Thank you for sharing this experience with us. A good start for the day by reading it!

  2. Jay, your words come to life as I imagine the gift God has given you In your day to day job! I am reminded of the words of the psalmist when he says he’ d rather be a doorkeeper in the house of the Lord. How precious it is knowing the Lord directs our steps and then helps us to view our circumstances from HIS perspective. Thank you for sharing this real life story that helps us to understand things are not always as they seem.

  3. Jay, what a great story to tell. Over the years in my Christian life, when it comes down to where the rubber meets the road, we DON’T GO OUT WITNESSING FOR CHRIST…WE WITNESS AS WE GO! And your POST is a perfect example of this. Be quick to LISTEN and slow to SPEAK as the Book of James says (James 1:19).

  4. Amen!
    Thank you so much!
    We praise God for this!
    What came to mind when I read this was about how we pray, “not my will but yours but done” and we think sometimes that means ‘la-la-land’ with everything going “smoothly”, however, like I’m also grasping, it means letting God take over, allowing Him to do His will and trusting that He has our best interests at heart and that He loves us. Similar to what seemed like “de-rails” in that person’s life, when it was really God saving them.
    Praise God, He is a Good God, Amen

  5. No one can tell of so many things we have been delivered from that we have no idea about, All we see is interruptions to our daily plans which sometimes are miracles in disguise. Thanks for posting.

  6. What an awesome story — both of them! I know what you mean about Job. It took me a long time to accept that God’s answer to Job’s question is simply, “I am and that’s enough!” When Job came face to face with God, he was humbled. We may never know the reason for things this side of heaven, but God is, and that’s enough. Trust, only trust.

    Jay, God is using you. Sounds like He’s training you for more. I love your open spirit!

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The WORD Detective

Inspired Word of God

Deep Thinkings

It's time we start thinking about our lives

Public Catholic

Catholic in the Public Square

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

The World Needs God

What can Christ teach us?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

