Skip to content

Finding Comfort and Security in Christ

July 12, 2013

If there is anything I can say for certain, it is that we are headed for some very dark times. The current administration in office, in charge of our well being and safety seems rather bent on abolishing the constitution and everything Godly that this country was built upon. While it is true that President Obama has, so far, issued fewer executive orders than any other president within the last 100 years, some of those executive orders are questionable, and lead to some rather striking concerns. His orders on martial law, gun control, and military surveillance lead one to wonder just what the president thinks is going to happen, or if he, himself, is planning some kind of coup. The recent scandal concerning former CIA contractor, Snowden, brought even more questionable policies to light. And christianity as a religion has come under fire in the US military, and particularly with the recent gay marraige debates. But this isn’t a political blog, and I’m not going to get into the particulars. But this IS something that can drive a person a bit crazy just thinking about it. Many of us, even non-believers feel the end of the world coming, or at least the end of the world as we know it. How can we find comfort and security during such dark times? In our Lord, the God of all comfort (2 Corinthians 1:3-11).

Christianity has certainly come under attack in recent days, but this was to be expected! We can and must endure for Christ as He taught us: “All men will hate you because of me, but he who stands firm to the end will be saved.” (Mark 13:13). Christ gave us the Holy Spirit (John 14:16) to help us through the suffering we must endure, a companion to comfort and guide us. We must not fret, for Jesus has “overcome the world.” (John 16:33). The battle has already been won, Jesus has TOLD us this! “He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” (Revelation 21:4). In the comfort that we find in Christ, we can comfort others as well! (2 Corinthians 1:4). Above all, we have to remember that in order for Satan to “save” the world, there must first be something to save. It is a hard truth to learn that before order can come there must be chaos. Jesus told us to be steadfast, that “in this world you will have trouble” and “everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted.” (2 Timothy 3:12). There are things that must happen that cannot be changed, that cannot be altered through even the most righteous of prayer. A great tribulation will we endure, and it may even be coming soon! But just remember that Jesus has “overcome the world“! Take comfort in knowing that Jesus is our shepherd (John 10:11), and He will protect and guide us.

Praise and love be to you Lord! Without you I cannot function, with you the possiblities are limitless! I offer a prayer for my brothers and sisters in Christ. I pray that you comfort and guide them as you do me, Lord. Your love, your patience, your wisdom is unfathomable to me, I could not hope to duplicate it! I pray only to live as you will of me, Lord, and that my brothers and sisters in Christ will continue to love and praise you as you deserve! You have been neglected, Lord, neglected by your children, and it hasn’t been fair of us. I pray for the non-believers, the lost multitude crying our for guidance. I pray that they could see, feel, and understand your guiding light! I’ve seen so much within the past few months, Lord, things that I know you have shown me for a reason. It moves me to tears that they cannot feel your love as I do, that even with their rebellious nature, you still love them as you do me. I’ve no choice but to worship you Lord, for I am in awe of your wonder! Guide me and comfort me Lord, and spread your comfort to the world that we may feel your presence always!

As always, remember that we were commanded to “go“! (Mark 16:15). We were commanded to spread the gospel to the very ends of the earth (Romans 10:18) and to look upon the world today is to see that the gospel is needed now more than ever! Spread the comfort and gospel of Christ to all that you can! If even one seed is planted, one person saved, the angels of the Lord will rejoice!

Published by Jay McAnally
Copyright © 2013
7 Comments
  1. We can read about or hear about SECURITY FRAUD in the land almost daily. But the direction you highlight in your POST points to the SECURITY that is never a FRAUD. It’s our security in Christ Jesus in and of the POWER given by the Holy spirit. Thanks Jay and it will be a pleasure to SHARE your efforts in writing this post with others. You are blessed.

  2. You are right in pointing out the darkness that is creeping closer and closer around us. I believe this is an indication that Jesus will rapture out the Church soon. America is not referred to in end time prophecy, so I also believe it will cease to be a major world power and that is all part of the end. But we never need to worry or fear for God is with us. Thank you for sharing a timely post. I hope it will encourage many to persevere. Times may get much more difficult before Jesus return.

  3. For a long time I was afraid of the end times and the difficulties that we would endure. It is only as my faith and love for Jesus has grown that perfect love has cast out all fear. I am learning to look to Jesus and look for His hand of blessing and comfort in the midst of fearful times. I am learning to bless His holy name in spite of all I see and believe His word above all else. Above all else Jesus and His Word have risen high.

  4. Thank you for sharing – We can only find security in Christ. People truly need the Lord and make haste in sharing His Word.

  5. I like to focus on the Lord and stay under the shadow of His wings. There I am safe and secure. I liked your encouragement to tell others about Jesus as they need that safety, too.

  6. Lana permalink

    Great blog! Hope I can find it later.. Don’t know how to bookmark on my cellphone yet 🙂

  7. There is no hope without Christ, In Him is everything. The one who paid the price for us and loves us so dearly. God bless

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The WORD Detective

Inspired Word of God

Deep Thinkings

It's time we start thinking about our lives

Public Catholic

Catholic in the Public Square

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

The World Needs God

What can Christ teach us?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

