Skip to content

Hatred

November 14, 2012

I’m going to deviate today from my normal style of postings and write on more of a personal note today. I’ve had so much on my mind lately that I’ve developed nervous ticks; perhaps a remedy will be spelling it all out here. I’ve become overwhelmed by what I believe God is placing upon me, and though by no means is it not welcome, I feel rather upset about the current state of things. There are things I have discovered recently that give me no amount of pause, and for the life of me, I can find no answers to these questions.

A week ago, the country was in an uproar over the upcoming presidential election. They called it the most important election in the history of the United States, not that I understood how this election was any different than any other election. Truth be told, there isn’t a politician alive that I trust any further than I can throw them, so I figured whoever got in, got in, and what happened, happened. And it would seem that President Obama will remain in office for another four years. So, big deal. However, since that night, I have seen, read and heard of things happening that simply blow my mind.

First up, is the (so far) 24 states that are attempting to petition the government to allow them to secede from the United States and form their own separate governments. All because Obama was re-elected. Are you serious? Let me get this straight, you want to literally leave the country, take your entire state with you, and become your own self-contained government, all because Obama won? Please tell me how we will be any worse off than we have been for the last four years under his presidency. And how could we have been so sure that Romney would have done any better? So, let’s just say that these states are allowed to secede (which I highly doubt would happen), what then? Will they want to keep their currency? Will they open trade negotiations with other states that are still a part of the United States? What about businesses? What if they need supplies or other needs that could only be met by yet another business that is still governed by United States law? Are we really going to be opening international trade agreements within our own country? Will I need a passport if I want to move to another state? Obama won the election, so the natural response is to start a civil war and descend into anarchy right? We are all going to Hell because WE re-elected President Obama. As if God actually cared about who we put into office, as though He has nothing better to do than to get entangled in our politics! Really?

Which brings me to my next problem. Obama is the anti-Christ. Now, this is coming up more and more often, pushed onto us by extremist Christian groups that, in my opinion, have failed to read and/or understand anything the bible tells us (Westboro Baptist Church comes to mind). They suggest that Obama is the anti-Christ because he supports, say, abortion. Given that God detests this practice, and Obama supports it, he must therefore be the anti-Christ. Well, of course. That makes perfect sense right up until you realize that by that logic, ANYONE who supports abortion is the anti-Christ. Ah, but he also supports the right to homosexual marriage! He’s two for two, he’s the anti-Christ, his father is Satan! Same logic, people, a lot of people support gay rights. For the record, let it be known that Obama neither supports nor boycotts either of these issues, as his recorded stance is that the government should not be involved in said issues. Which I happen to agree with, personally. Abortion and homosexuality are personal choices and these people should be prayed for because their only judge will be God himself. Jesus taught us to give to Ceasar what is Ceasar’s and to give to God what is God’s. I feel Obama is appropriately separating church and state, as it should be. I am by no means defending Obama, as I said before, I don’t trust any politician. The point being is that even though Romney was against abortion and gay marriage, these two things will continue to happen until the end of time, and Romney would not have been able to stop it any more than Obama could. Making these things illegal will not stop homosexuals from being together, and it will not stop a woman who sees no other alternative than to get an abortion. Meth is an illegal drug. People still do it. These people instead need to be prayed for, they need to know that God loves them! They need to know that God is there, that He will take care of them, that He wants them at His side!

Westboro Baptist Church would have us believe otherwise. I have never seen anything like this before in my life, and the amount of hatred channeled through the good name of a church just makes me completely ill. Their website is godhatesfags.com. You may find that hard to believe. That’s understandable, which is why I have included that link directly to their page. I honestly have no words to describe what this group does. They spew savage hatred toward the most controversial issues of today: homosexuals, Muslims, Jews, Catholics, abortion, cancer, politics, and now even military funerals. And then if you lay so much as a finger on one of their members during a supposedly peaceful protest taking place right outside the legal distance required from your loved one’s funeral, they slap you with a million dollar lawsuit to further fund their tyrannical dogmatic drivel. They publicly thank God for deadly disasters like 9/11, the tsunami and earthquake in China. They thank Him for the killing of young children who were sinners. They thank Him for the killing of Muslims or Jews. They thank Him for the disease of cancer, the killer of sinners. Oh, and, as if you didn’t know this, God also hates Lady Gaga. They proclaim that they would give a sinner a big hug and maybe a kiss on the forehead if they could only get to you before God “kicks your ass”. God doesn’t just hate “fags”, he probably also hates YOU. And God, of course, does a lot of “ass-kicking”. What a shameful, offensive way to observe and spread the Word of God. The very name of the website makes me seethe with hatred despite my best efforts not to. I have only one question for this “church”. Did you people even READ the bible? Because I can’t imagine that you have. Your very motto of God hates Fags begs the question of just how completely ignorant you people are! And you can quote me all the bible verses you want to defend the notion that God hates sinners. I’ll even throw a couple out there for you. How about Psalms 5:5? “…thou hatest all workers of iniquity.” Or perhaps “All their wickedness is in Gilgal: for there I hated them: for the wickedness of their doings I will drive them out of mine house, I will love them no more…” – Hosea 9:15. Once again, let’s go ahead and use one section of the bible to illustrate our point while at the same time, ignoring the rest of it. To claim that God hates sinners is to completely disregard John 3:16, AND the entirety of Christ’s purpose! Tell me, if God hated us so much, WHY would he bother to send us His only son, who then loved us so much that He gave up His LIFE for OUR sins! If God hated us so much, WHY would Jesus have spent almost the entirety of His life in the company of prostitutes and degenerates? Jesus did not come to punish, He came to SAVE! God hates the SIN, but loves the SINNER! Does this mean that unrepentant sinners will avoid the pit of fire? No, it doesn’t. God wishes us all to be with Him in the end, but He cannot allow iniquity in His presence. He is just, He is holy, and He cannot allow unrepentant sinners into His kingdom. But He loves us so much that He gives us the opportunity to repent our sins and join Him in His kingdom! Westboro Baptist Church would have us believe that God hates America! That He is literally killing the men of our US military because they support a nation that is not unlike Sodom! Interestingly enough, there is a counter further down the page that is under the heading of “numbers”. This counter continually rises the longer you are on the page and represents the number of US soldiers God has killed since you loaded the page. Other outrageous numbers are also available for perusal, such as how many US soldiers God has killed to date, the number of people saved in the flood (8), the number of people killed in the flood (16,000,000: not sure where this number came from), and my favorite: the number of nanoseconds of lost sleep over their concern for our opinions and feeeeeliiings (0). How very Christian, to have no consideration whatsoever for other people’s feelings, and not only that, but to mock those feelings on your website! Yes, this is very loving, clearly the message God wanted to send! Yes, the bible tells us to hate everyone that doesn’t completely conform to your own beliefs, and worry instead, only about yourself! These people protest military funerals. They picket signs that declare how much God hates US soldiers, therefore, He hated the deceased! That’s right grieving family! God hated your son/husband/uncle/grandpa/brother so much that He struck him down! Don’t worry though, you’ll be next because, in your delusional state of grief, you actually held a funeral for someone God killed because He hated him! You shouldn’t have been grieving! God hates that too! Now, He’s going to kill you! You fools… yes, they call people fools on their website and during their picket rally’s. The saddest thing, I think, is that little children carry around these terrible picket signs, as in the picture above. It makes me so sick to see this as I imagine my own daughter being brainwashed to believe that God is nothing but hatred and vengeance. Now, perhaps I’ll be sued for this blog, because the leaders of this church are lawyers (again, another nail in their coffin), and thoroughly enjoy going sue-happy on anyone that doesn’t follow their beliefs (again, how Christian of you), but I simply don’t care! I pray for the families of lost soldiers that have to suffer the presence of these people during their hour of darkness. And I wish I could pray for the people of Westboro Baptist Church, and though I know I certainly will, I haven’t the strength to ignore my hatred of what these people do. Instead, for now, I will pray God give me the strength to see just how lost these people are, and help me push my hatred right out of me. Otherwise, I would be no different than they.

I also read something else recently that was rather disturbing. I am no fan of the Catholic Church as I believe they have managed to completely destroy real Christianity in the world today. I do not believe there to be a “real” church in existence thanks to them, and I just love what they’ve done with the ten commandments. You know, changing them and all. But what I read was in regards to the changing of the Sabbath day from Saturday to Sunday, which was also the Catholic Church’s doing. I don’t have the actual writing on me at the moment, but I will add it to the post when I get home. The writing states that nowhere in the New Testament was there a hint or suggestion that we should keep the Sabbath….   I’m sorry, what? Say that again? In all the New Testament there was not a single hint or suggestion that we should maintain the Lord’s Day? Really? So then, Jesus DIDN’T dedicate around 75% of his sermons discussing the importance of the Sabbath day? I was reading it all wrong, is that what you are saying? Jesus tells us to “love the Lord thy God with all thy soul, and with all thy mind…” and “…love thy neighbor as thyself.” – Matthew 22:37-39. Jesus’s two Great Commands essentially reduce the Ten Commandments into two, making them easier to understand and comprehend. These two Commands do not trump the Ten Commandments by any means, but rather encompass them! The first four commandments teach us how to love God, and the remaining six teach us how to love each other. Commandment 4 is: “Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.” – Exodus 20:8. Christ also tells us that He has not “come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy but to fulfill.” – Matthew 5:17. Jesus was the ultimate fulfillment of the Mosaic law. Jesus revered, loved, and obeyed the law, fulfilling the Mosaic demands of perfect obedience to the letter! His sacrifice meant that we no longer had to sacrifice livestock in atonement for our sins! His sacrifice was the fulfillment of that part of the law as well. Jesus’ regular custom was the worship on the Sabbath. He tells us to “…keep the commandments.” – Matthew 19:17. But, you are right, I must be completely wrong and we should just ignore the Sabbath, or better yet, let’s just mock the importance of this day even further by switching it from Saturday to Sunday! Let’s make the Sabbath a pagan ritual, yeah that makes sense! Because just as The New Testament didn’t give us any hint or suggestion that we should keep the Sabbath, there is no hint or suggestion in the whole bible about God hating pagan rituals or anything. After all, Westboro Baptist Church goes on Sunday (Sun worship day was the original meaning of this day), and it’s clear from their website (I did mention their website right? www.godhatesfags.com?) that they are completely reasonable, kind-hearted, loving Christians, and if THEY go on Sunday, then it must be the God’s truth right? It amazes me how blind people can truly be. Jesus was denied by His own people, even after proving His divine heritage through miracles such as raising the dead and feeding 5000 people with a few loaves of bread and some fish! And yet people still would deny Him. People will deny Him at His second coming! That’s right, people will stand there and deny God while Jesus is soaring down from the clouds with an army of angels behind Him! I don’t understand this behavior! I don’t understand, either why people don’t actually READ the bible. They have no problem cracking it open to look for a verse that justifies their behaviors but then completely fail to take that verse in the context of the rest of the passage. Anyone who actually reads the bible from cover to cover, I would think would realize that the overlying message in the scriptures is one of love and compassion, spiritual renewal, and peaceful co-existence! I have no words as to why the bible and the Christian religion have both been so twisted and perverted to the point that the original message is completely lost. However, this parallels the world Jesus entered into so long ago when the Mosaic Law had been twisted and revised so much that no one could even accurately describe it!

I know only that I am in the place God wants me to be. Everything in my life has led me here. The world may end in December of 2012. The country may erupt into civil war and anarchy and we may face the collapse of our government and economy. Frankly, I’m not too worried about any of it. I will live my life as I have been. I will help where I can, write in my blog, enjoy my family, and take it day by day. I’ll let God worry about the rest of it. After all, it’s a cakewalk for Him! I know that no matter what, I am in good hands with God. I just wish that everyone could feel this type of security. I wish only that the hatred would just stop. I know that it won’t, at least not yet. But I will pray for it just the same. I am by no means perfect, and I make no such claim, nor have I ever. I owe God my very existence! To me, even total perfection on my part could not even hope to be enough thanks for such a monumental event! I am an only child, but I had two sisters and two brothers before me that died at birth. I was the one that survived! And I feel I spent most of my life wasting it until I came to God, and in some ways, I still feel I’m not doing enough. I have debts that I cannot pay, made mistakes that I have trouble forgiving myself for. Knowing that God still loves me, that He is still willing to forgive me, I cannot even describe how that makes me feel. I fell that I could still be doing more although what that may be still escapes me. I do know that when God is ready for me to do more, He will open a door for me, and I WILL step through it. It is simply the least I can do for His gift of life. Frankly, when I look at the hatred in the world today, I am even more thankful for God, that He would still love us despite that. And we should all be thankful. By all rights, God SHOULD hate everyone of us! Thankfully, He is the strongest of all, the most holy and just, and our only hope for salvation and life eternal! I am thankful that He granted me my life, and that He has led me to where I am today. I am thankful for His gifts to me of my wife and our kids. He has given me all I need, and He takes care of me every day that I continue to draw breath. I only wish that everyone could feel this joy…

Published by Jay McAnally
Copyright © 2012
From → Personal Opinion

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The WORD Detective

Inspired Word of God

Deep Thinkings

It's time we start thinking about our lives

Public Catholic

Catholic in the Public Square

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

The World Needs God

What can Christ teach us?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

